Skip to content

Catechesis on the Priesthood

October 24, 2009

This Sunday I will be leading the Breaking Open the Word again for our RCIA participants. The guideline that I have says to focus the discussion on the priesthood, both the ministerial priesthood and the common priesthood. This entails a lot of prep work, for me at least.

So I have read through the Letter to the Hebrews, in which Paul discusses the priesthood of the old covenant and the priesthood of the new covenant.

I did an internet search on the priesthood and I found a number of conference talks by Fr. John Hardon here.  There are 29 talks on the priesthood by Fr. Hardon collected on this site. Fr. Hardon suggests reading the Letter to the Hebrews and a document by Pope Pius XII, “Mediator Dei“, on the sacred liturgy. This I have not read yet, and probably won’t before my RCIA session tomorrow.

I am polishing up my outline for tomorrow, most of it is based directly on the guideline that the director had given me. (Sorry I don’t know the source for it.) The essence of the outline is the difference between the priesthood of the old and new testaments, some discussion on the ministerial and common priesthoods, and the three tiers of the sacrament of holy orders.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 25, 2009 12:41 pm

    Sounds like good prep, let us know how the class goes.

Leave a Reply

