Skip to content

Current Status on Mother Angelica

February 2, 2010

Mother Angelica has died – God rest her soul!

Mother Mary Angelica of the Annunciation, PCPA passed peacefully from this life at Our Lady of the Angels Monastery on Easter Sunday, March 27, 2016 at about 5:00p.m. Central time., in this Jubilee Year of Mercy, surrounded by the prayers and love of her spiritual daughters, sons and dear friends. Throughout these past five decades, Mother has counseled and exhorted millions of souls to do what she sought to do so faithfully; live with God in the present moment and to spend herself entirely in His service. Thank you for your prayers for this courageous daughter of the Church and your support of our community. May our beloved Mother Angelica, Abbess Emerita, foundress of EWTN and Our Lady of the Angels Monastery and spouse of Jesus Christ, enter through the Mercy of God into the eternal glory prepared for those who love Him. ~~ from OLAM Nuns

UPDATE 10/15/13 –

On April 20th, Mother Angelica celebrated her 90th birthday. For the past 11 years, she has suffered from the effects of a stroke and brain surgery and has been bed-ridden for the past 5 years.. This may not seem like a miracle but some doctors would say it comes pretty close. For her Sisters who take care of Mother, it is obvious that she has not refused the suffering but has embraced it. Mother has had a great deal of suffering and pain in her life, but it has never made her bitter or resentful. She knew God had a purpose for it and she has accepted it as a blessing.Thank you for your continued prayers for Mother and for EWTN.

From The Sisters at Our Lady of the Angels
Monastery
 on June 12, 2013

NOTE – This blog is not affiliated with Mother Angelica or her monastery. They will not see any posts that you leave here. Click on “The Sisters…” link above to send them a message. Thanks

——————————————————-

UPDATE 3/23/2011 – The hits on this post have gone through the roof today and so I finally checked around for any news on Mother Angelica. I don’t know what is going around on the internet about Mother but I just found this bit of information on EWTN’s Facebook page (the same can also be found at the Mother update link below):

Please be advised that contrary to some recent comments on the internet there has been no change in Mother Angelica’s condition. She is happy to have your prayers and is looking forward her 88th birthday next month.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

From time to time the Sisters at Our Lady of the Angels Monastery post an update on Mother Angelica on the EWTN website, http://www.ewtn.com/mother_update.asp.

The latest information is:

Thank you for your continued prayers for Mother Angelica. Her health remains stable, and she is as plucky as ever. It’s a real joy to visit Mother in her room, because inspiration is the gift she liberally hands out! Not with her down-to-earth wisdom communicated by words (which we all loved and miss), but through another medium – example. The welcome smile of our Mother beckons each of us close to her bedside where she instantly has you entangled in her strong grasp. Just try to get free! Every great teacher closes their lessons with a thought to ponder, a word of wisdom for the day. Mother’s unspoken word of ‘acceptance’ is continually given to all who visit her.

From The Sisters at Our Lady of the Angels Monasteryon January 26th, 2010

The Monastery’s website also has a page dedicated to Mother.

So, in case you didn’t already have these links now you can bookmark them and keep up to date on Mother.

Update – check out this interview between Fr. Mitch Pacwa and Raymond Arroyo. They give us some good insights to Mother’s condition.

Another Update –

From The Sisters at Our Lady of the Angels Monastery on August 9, 2010

“Salvation brings the soul a deep awareness of God’s Love.  Life takes on more meaning for it now has a purpose.  Trials and crosses are no longer mysteries but caresses from the Crucified Lord.”

– Mother M. Angelica

The drive to be independent is in us all. Independence is a fine thing if it doesn’t lead to an extreme self-sufficiency that prevents one from accepting help from others. This human plague, if you will, can even pervade within the cloister walls. But here at Our Lady of the Angels Monastery—the valiant witness of our Mother Angelica—who, in the past, enjoyed a vibrantly active role in evangelization, offers us today a sure remedy to this plague by her daily example of dependence upon the sisters who selflessly care for her needs.

This is not an easy switch for one so competent and tenacious. Yet, Mother’s docility shows us her determined and continued pursuit towards our exciting upward call in Christ. Not deterred or hampered by her circumstances, her friendly smile reveals a serenity that speaks of one who accepts her place. The salvation of souls has always been her business in imitation of Jesus, her Spouse. Mother understands her significant role, as all should who carry the cross of infirmity.

Let us relish Mother Angelica’s silent witness, and be encouraged, realizing LOVE is all that matters. In the end, it will be our love that God accepts with divine pleasure without remembering our showy independence.


A gigantic thank you to Mother’s friends (across the globe), who continue to send greetings via mail and other means.
Her face lights up with joy at each greeting!


31 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 9:00 pm

    God bless Mother Angelica and I pray for her recovery. Happy 87 birthday and God bless her. She is a daily inspiration for millions of us. Love and Prayers from Grant in Dallas, TX.

    • catholicwideweb permalink*
      April 20, 2010 9:36 pm

      yes. happy birthday Mother Angelica!!

  2. May 12, 2010 8:13 pm

    First mother I want to say that I enjoy watching you on TV. You teach with such love and you have a wonderful sense of humor. I pray that you have a speedy recovery and I get to see you and listen to you again. God Bless You. Sincerely, Cathy Wilshusen

  3. July 15, 2010 8:54 pm

    Hi Mother Angelica
    stop by to wish you well soon my mom and I miss you on tv alot hope you are geting better
    we will keep you in our prears! have a blessful week and take cear!
    love kat!

  4. August 9, 2010 6:04 pm

    God bless you Mother Angelica! Happy Birthday and many more to you God willing. love, in Jesus and Mary, Lisa

  5. Gary Biscontini permalink
    August 28, 2010 8:14 pm

    Mother Angelica,

    This world needs more people like her in it. In a world filled with Greed and materialism, it is wonderful that a woman of God like Mother angelica gives the word of God in word and in Action. God bless you Mother Angelica, you are a true inspiration and Angel on Earth. you are truly the best!!

  6. Shelleyklinger permalink
    November 10, 2010 3:27 am

    Godblessyoudearmother!ithankjesusforyou.theloveandwisdomthruourlordthruyouisamazingandcomfortingthankyou!

  7. Kay Smith permalink
    November 30, 2010 7:55 pm

    Dear Mother Angelica

    I am not catholic but I watch you all the time. I love to watch Mother Angelica Live. You have a get insight. Keep up the good work. Kay Smith

  8. Ron permalink
    December 31, 2010 12:44 pm

    I love Mother Angelica.

    Merry Christmas to all of you EWTN viewers!

  9. Cathy Prylucki permalink
    February 9, 2011 5:04 pm

    I love you Mother, and all the sisters, may God continue to bless you. Please pray for my daughters who have fallen away from the church. Please beg God to grant them a way of seeing that God wants them to go to church. Thank you.

  10. Klause permalink
    February 9, 2011 7:51 pm

    Dearest Mother Angelica, you are such a grand inspiration to those of the Roman Catholic faith, as well as the WHOLE world. Your earlier broadcast which are thankfully re-aired on a much needed regular basis on your beloved EWTN, continue to teach, inspire and direct. They like you continue to be a blessing from our Lord.

    May God continue to bless you, richly !

    Reverend Klause Stauffenberg

  11. February 22, 2011 7:59 pm

    Dear Mother Angelica: I want to thank-you and every person that made posible your broadcast on T.V.. Also thanks to the Sisters at Our Lady of the Angels Monastery. Mother your broadcast made me want to be a better person and inspire me to help others and appreciate life more. I love God with all my heart and soul. I want to confes to you that when I talk to God I tell him that if I have to give my life for him I will do it in a heart beat. He has bless me in so many ways. Without him we are nothing. I had cancer 5 to 6 years ago ( breast cancer ) and he cure me. My husband 5 years ago had a kidney-pancrea transplant and God cure him, I lost my mother 3 years ago and every time I pray to The Divine Mercy that I want to see her in my dreams ,that night I dream about her. My faith is big and I wish that people come closer to God and believe in him more. Our nation and other nation around the world are forgetting that without God nothing is possible. We cannot stop praying fo peace around the world, our leaders need prayers , too. Please mother pray for my father he was diagnosed with severe peripheral vascular disease with rest pain. Please for him that everything goes well. Thank-you so much for everything you do for all of us. We love you. We will keep you in our prayers. God bless you always.

  12. BarbraJean permalink
    March 14, 2011 7:46 am

    Dear Mother Angelica,
    I saw you on TV doing the Rosary and I was concerned about you because you seemed a bit tired. I have never come to this website before but I was ready to come here and get some people where you are to give you a rest and tell them not to push you too hard. But on the website I found out that you had suffered a stroke so I then understood everything…well, everything I needed to know. I too have had a stroke. I am 58 and a cancer survivor. I graduated high school at the Convent Of The Good Shepherd in San Francisco, CA. in 1970. Anyway, you seem to be doing VERY well, although I don’t know when you had your stroke or how serious it was. And although you may forget some things you’d like to remember, and remember things you’d rather forget, and you may seem more tired than usual (I do and so I just rest more frequently), I will pray hard for you and I just know you’re going to be better than you were even before the stroke!! I just know it!! I miss the Sisters I used to know in school, and when I watch you on TV, I feel very calm and secure. You remind me a lot of Mother Christopher from the Convent. Anyway, take your time and your brain may surprise you. I am seriously remembering things I had totally forgotten even before I had my stroke. Take care and don’t push too hard. I’ll be seeing you on TV!! Barbara Sturgis

  13. Ann Marie permalink
    March 22, 2011 11:53 pm

    Dear Mother Angelica,

    You are truly a gift from God. My husband and I started watching EWTN several months ago. Your Mother Angelica Live Classics has become a favorite of ours. You are an inspiration! We are searching for greater faith in our hearts, you are helping us on that journey. Lifes trials have been many. Your love, your devotion and your “Mother Angelica wit and wisdom” has given us more direction and many a good laugh!

    May you always know the joy, love and comfort you have brought into lives is never forgotten.

    God has a lot of work to do with me, I am opening that door to my soul and praying that it will be filled with the faith and beauty, just as yours is!

    I am praying for you.

    Thank you once again.

  14. Trish permalink
    June 1, 2011 10:23 pm

    My grandmother tells me that Mother Angelica was one of her teachers as a little girl in a Convent in Tegucigal, Honduras. She always remembers her and adores her to this day. Mother Angelica could not say my grandmother’s name correctly, she would pronounce it “Ogundina”. lol

  15. June 2, 2011 6:43 pm

    My mom has received alot of letters from EWTN and Mother Angelica.
    My family will continue to pray for her and her Nuns.
    We love Mother Anglica we hope that she gets better real soon.

  16. RITA LUBBAT permalink
    July 1, 2011 5:27 pm

    +TO.MY MOTHER ANGLICA.IAM AND MY HUSBEND ISSA COSTA LUBBAT.FROM JERUSALEM,HOLY LAND,SENDING FOR YOU OUR PRAYERS AND OUR LOVES,JESUS CHRIST,BLESSING,GRACE,LOVE AND PROTECTION BE WITH YOU NOW AND ALWAYS.WE WILL PRAYING FOR YOU ALMOST AND WE WILL LIGHTING A CANDELS IN YOUR NAME,JESUS CHRIST,GIVE YOU ALL OF GOOD HEALTH AND A LONG HAPPY PEACEFULL LIFE,TO CARRY THIS VERY BIG HOLY MESSAGE THE MESSAGE OF JESUS CHRIST IN THIS WORLD IN HONESTY AND LOVE.WE PRAYING AND HOPE YOU WILL RECIVED OUR MESSAGE AND TO HEARING A NEW GOODS NEWS ABOUT YOU MOTHER.IF YOU PLEASE PRAYING FOR ME AND MY HUSBEND ISSA HAVE A CHILD.THANKS VERY MUCH.WE LOVES YOU VERY MUCH.YOUR DAUGHTER IN CHRIST.RITA LUBBAT.YOUR SON IN CHRIST.ISSA COSTA LUBBAT.FROM JERUSALEM,HOLY LAND,FROM THE LATIN FRANCISCAN CHURCH OF JERUSALEM.

  17. Judith Esievo permalink
    August 1, 2011 9:53 am

    Dear mother Angelica,

    I thank God for giving you to us, you are a great inspiration God will continue to preserve your life, I wish you speedy recovery in Jesus name…. Amen.
    Please mother pray that God grant me and my family peace and love, also to let us grow in His faith, Amen.
    Thank you for EWTN, my day is not complete without it.
    Love you MAMA….

    Judith

  18. Tiffany permalink
    December 19, 2011 1:46 am

    Where is Mother Angelica’s Church Our Lady of The Angels located the one they air on EWTN T.V.??

  19. anthony custode permalink
    February 15, 2012 8:13 am

    God bless and keep you Mother Angelica, you have made being a Catholic much more meaningful to me. Thank you.

  20. Ginny Ingold permalink
    February 19, 2012 8:37 pm

    Dear Mother Angelica,
    I became Catholic 21 years ago and I have never regretted it I love being Catholic. Because of you and your network, I learned the truth about the Catholic faith and I was able to raise two beautiful truly catholic children, now adults who LOVE their faith. I pray for you daily and know you will be a saint one day. I love you!

  21. Salvador permalink
    May 16, 2012 10:34 am

    AMERICA WHERE ARE YOU? In God we Trust, Do we? Home of the Free, where is it? Why do we send our brave children over seas to Die and give parades for political leaders of our community and country that send them there and have never shown any signs of bravery to God and Country? What makes anyone’s Death more important than yours or your loved ones. Why should we as a society give more value to one life over another?
    If You were able to ask ” OUR ” unborn children / brothers and sisters if they want to exist as a human life and be born into this world or would they wish to die at the hands of their Big brother and Big sister. aka Mother , Doctor or Father ? What would you think their response would be? Could you even ask that question to our most helpless of our brother’s or sister’s in need of your care and protection. If you knew they could answer you and could understand you, even if it took awhile to under stand you. Would you still consider killing them at anyone’s request?
    Thank God that Joseph protected Christ as any Good Big Brother would and should do. Thank God that Mary our Sister protected “OUR” unborn brother Jesus. Thank God for the Holy Spirit that makes us apart of each other through the Grace of God and the desire for love that God has instilled in each one of us .
    Lets stop the Murder of our unborn brothers and sister now. LOOSE THE Apathy, Greed and selfishness. Leaders must Lead !!! , If not for God’s Sake then for Your future brothers and sisters sake.. PLEASE ANSWER ME THIS QUESTION? If a pregnant women gets Murdered and her unborn child is also murdered during this act of Murder, the case is call a double Murder. MY QUESTION IS What is the difference between the Murder of the unborn person buy a” Murderer” and an unborn Murdered by a Doctor “brother” and “Sister” Mother” ? Where are the Mary’s and Joseph’s of this world?’ I pray they are Leading our world through polices they are responsible to make and up hold to stop the murders and bring the murders to justice no matter how long it takes or how much it cost to do so… I have seen apathy in this world many times. Once when my Mother was pulled over by a man impersonating as a police officer. My Mother was abducted ,Raped and thrown off a very high embankment left to die no one stopped to help her this is apathy. I Thank God she did not die. During this time no one from the suburban community we lived in came to our two bedroom apartment with four children and a single mother to offer any help, care or sympathy This is apathy. I guess we didn’t fit in with their idea of one of their suburban community family members again Apathy, favoritism, special treatment.wrong side of the tracks. . ” I have buried my brother Tony at 20 years old from Murder here in the Greatest Country in the history of the world. At the time I was protecting our Country over seas while serving in the United States Air Force when his murder was committed by our own men or women in our own country. To this day we don’t know who did this. I believe do to the apathy demonstrated by the Trenton Michigan police , the fact that my brother was not related to those with the responsibility to protect and serve, the murderer’s were never pursued as a murder is when they murder someone with monetary wealth , political ties ,special influences or their a cop.. What makes them or a police officer any more important than each one of our citizens? After all they signed up for the job to protect and serve and they get paid good for it.
    Considering the real compared difference between combat troops, their jobs and what they are told to do for very little pay.
    A local police officer is a pretty safe job with Great benefits and a retirement pension in comparison to our military troops. If your not out searching for crime by walking the streets like our soldiers do in the worst neighborhoods in the world then all that is being done is waiting for the crime to happen. What kind of police protection are we paying for. Apathy wins the day if it is a crime against an everyday citizen who is just trying to live a simple life out of the limelight of fame and fortune. Like our soldiers , I was also told I was protecting our brothers and sisters of our Country at home while i was over seas wearing our countries uniform. Who is protecting our brothers, sisters and us here at home ?
    Our daughter Sydney was buried at age 19 recently from single car accident on a poorly maintained country road where we later learned six other children have went off the road their in the past. Sydney was only going 35mph when she hit a bad dip and Black ice in the road that sent her into a deep ditch and then into a pole.. Where is the money to fix these roads going? Apathy says our children do not matter, the money is going to our political leaders benefit packages, pork projects,retirement package and there lobbyist wants rather than our needs here at home and the basic American peoples needs go unanswered again and again do to our political Apathy.. Our Daughter Libby Died Dec 25 1990. a late term miscarriage. We believe from toxic chemicals used by the farmers in our area with lack of apathy for the people that live by them and eat there product and drink the water from their wells. Statistics show a high abnormality rate in this part of south eastern Michigan. Where is the political community task force looking into this? Big Business,Lobbyist and their political friends do not want a task force that does not benefit them. We have a son David 16 that was born legally Blind and has had many Heart surgeries “we came very close to burying him again this past year” David was born in the Same farm area with the same crop dusters and Fermi nuclear power plant leaking radio active waste into lake Eire where we ate the fish many times before they told the people what fish or parts of the fish not to eat now “apathy” held them back while we were pregnant with our son David until (they )could figure out who to pass the blame to. Then we were told as a community we are all safe and not to worry. Who is (THEY?) We all should know by now.
    We have a son Angelo 21 that has been robed at collage 5 times, twice at gun point and pistol whipped (Case Western Reserve University great university even though apathy has never helped solve a crime or promoted even a return phone call from the Cleveland police with out numerous calls to all the political office that would even listen before passing us off to someone else. Our police have a wait until it happens attitude policy and then wait another 30 + minuets to get there just to ask a few questions and go back to doing nothing to protect and serve our citizens. On the other hand our young Son’s and Daughters are “WALKING” into neighborhoods and are in combat mode to stop the crime before it happens and in a hostile land far from home. We only pay them pennies to do this and they would do it for free as they walk the streets of untold dangers in countries that do not want us there. Our law enforcement here at home wants more money at the same time telling us to “Get a gun to protect ourselves and to stay out of certain neighborhoods…. “IN OUR OWN COUNTRY ?”.because they are to dangerous! If the police lived in the neighborhood’s and had to walk them to protect and serve the community maybe we would have a safer place to live. Other countries have walking patrol’s after all if you can’t walk to help prevent crime how will you run to stop it.
    I fell off our roof two years ago and ended up with severe injuries that i am still recovering from , PLEASE Do Not Feel anything but happiness for my family and I . We at least get to be a family 25 years of marriage and a strong faith . Robbery, Rape,Abduction, Murder and Death does not define our Life or anyone’s life . God defines LIFE. Man Defines Death. In between Life and death is the God given right to Life , living it “Without Fear” , With Out Apathy towards each other and without apathy towards everyone of our brothers and sisters around this world. That type of thinking will fulfill the meaning of life. We the people decide the meaning of death and who should die. That is a very sober responsibility of judgement.
    We are our Brothers Keeper and we must continue to do a better job of it for our Sake as one people under God.”.
    most sincerely, Salvador “Sam” Giannola
    17111 Greenbrier dr. Strongsville Ohio 44136.
    PS How many of you have had any of this in your family and what are your feelings as a citizen of equal value?
    If you are interested in sending your voice for pro life the link is provided below as well as a thank you for standing against Apathy.

    As your constituent, I urge you to get Ohio tax payers out of the abortion business by supporting HB 298, sponsored by Rep. Kristan Roegner and Sen. Kris Jordan. HB 298 prioritizes state family planning funding to entities that best provide comprehensive health care to women and away from abortion providers such as Planned Parenthood. It provides a health care upgrade to women at no additional cost to Ohio taxpayers, and helps ensure that taxpayers are not forced to subsidize the abortion industry.

    Planned Parenthood does not need nor does it deserve taxpayer funding. That’s why I’m calling on you to support HB 298 today.
    Women deserve access to entities that can provide comprehensive health care, not abortion-centered businesses like Planned Parenthood. I look forward to hearing back from you on this matter. .
    Tell your elected officials in Ohio to defund abortion providers such as Planned

    Parenthood by supporting HB 298.

    AFTER ALL WE ARE A NATION THAT PROTECTS AND SERVES OTHERS, ARN’T WE?

    Peace and Love 2 all Sam 🙂

  22. angela hart permalink
    July 4, 2012 11:26 am

    I love Mother Angelica n have watched her on EWTN. Happy belated birthday ! Plz prayers for myself to become free from financial hardships. And be able to hear the Angels n Archangels . God Bless n take care ❤

  23. Linda permalink
    August 8, 2012 9:52 pm

    MOTHER ANGELICA LIVE IS MY FAVORITE PROGRAM ON EWTN. SHE STILL IS AN INSPIRATION WITH HER PROGRAMS THAT ARE STILL SHOWN. SHE WILL NEVER LOSE HER GIFT OF LOVE AND HER WONDERFUL GIFT OF LAUGHTER. SHE IS A GODSEND TO ALL OF US. NEVER TAKE HER PROGRAMS OFF THE AIR. SHE IS AWESOME.

    I WILL ALWAYS PRAY FOR HER AND I KNOW GOD HAS HER IN THE PALM OF HIS HAND…..ALWAYS.

    LINDA MCCORMACK
    KNOXVILLE, TENNESSEE

  24. Glenda permalink
    December 29, 2012 3:46 am

    Dear Mother Angelica, I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and I wish you a joyous new year. You are always in our hearts and we thank you for giving us EWTN. Your work for our Lord has helped give us great faith, much love, and hope for our journey home. I love being a Catholic.

    Glenda
    Arlington, WA

  25. Jean Payne permalink
    April 14, 2013 8:18 pm

    Here’ wishing you A HAPPY BIRTHDAY ON SAT. 20 th. I am a regular on watching Mass every day at 4 pm. some times I follow the rosary with you and the Nuns. Hope you have a nice day and more B’days to come. GOD BLESS YOU. LOVE YOU. JEAN California.

  26. Donald and Betty Eggers permalink
    April 24, 2013 3:25 pm

    We love you Mother Angelica and watch you every night

  27. May 6, 2013 2:53 pm

    Dear Mother Angelica:

    Please accept my belated birthday wishes. I trust you had a wonderful and blessed birthday on April 20th. Hope you had lots of ice cream. I know how much you like ice cream.

    I have been saying the rosary with you and sisters for about four years. It’s been years Mother since I have said the rosary. I miss you very much on T.V. Mother, you and have two things incommon. First, my name is Angelo, a name from Pope John 23th, his name was Angelo. Second, I too have suffered a heart attack and a stroke. I don’t mind this too much. I pray to our Blessed Mother Mary for our recovery. Thank you Mother for your spiritual guidance all of these years. I will continue praying for both us to get well soon. I wish Our Lady Mary and St. Lazarus to perform a modern day miracle so I can be a witness to God’s, his Mother Mary and my St. Lzarus miracle.

    Good by Mother Angelica and may the Good Lord continue to Bless you and guide you. My love and respect always.

    J. Angelo Browne

  28. February 23, 2014 12:38 am

    DEAR MOTHER, I THANK GOD FOR GIVING US YOU AND EWTN. THANK YOU AND EVERYONE CONNECTED WITH EWTN. I LOVE YOU AND YOUR WISDOM. I PRAY FOR YOUR RECOVERY. IN MY PRAYERS AND HEART.

  29. jessica permalink
    March 31, 2014 6:52 pm

    just wondering is, there an address to send letters to Mother Angelica? I emailed the monistary and they said it was on the EWTN website but I cannot find it. can you please help me. thank you

Leave a Reply

