Skip to content

Theology Class

September 18, 2010

I am taking Intro to Theology at Sacred Heart Major Seminary this semester. We just had our second class this week.  It’s been years since I took a college class and so I am concerned about making time to study and making sure that my study time is useful. Well, I’m quickly learning that theology is unlike anything I’ve ever studied before. Sure, a lot of what we are covering is familiar to me because of my own self-study in recent years,  but the way the subject reaches out in so many directions is just fascinating.

We have two core books, the Bible and the Catechism of the Catholic Church.  Then there is a ton of support material starting with Frank Sheed’s Theology for Beginners (excellent book by the way!), a book on the history of the Catholic Church (A Concise History of the Catholic Church was recommended, but I already had Church History: A Complete History of the Catholic Church to the Present Day and Church History: Twenty Centuries of Catholic Christianity on my shelf), documents from the Second Vatican Council , some books by Pope Benedict (Jesus of Nazareth, Introduction To Christianity, What It Means to Be a Christian: Three Sermons) and a few others (The Catholic Source Book, United States Catholic Catechism for Adults, The Faith We Profess: A Catholic Guide to the Apostles’ Creed, The Catholic Church through the Ages: A History, and A Christological Catechism: New Testament Answers).

Study consists of having all these books around you, and then you become theological, systematically studying religion and getting to know God in the process. I am so looking forward to this class. I hope and pray that I do it justice.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2010 11:28 pm

    Wow. How exciting to study faith formally as an adult.

    Good for you.

    • catholicwideweb permalink*
      September 24, 2010 8:57 am

      thanks! it is exciting.

  2. September 26, 2010 5:54 pm

    Frank Sheed’s book is amazing!! We’re using it as well in my seminary out here… Are you a seminarian as well?

    • catholicwideweb permalink*
      September 26, 2010 8:53 pm

      nope, i’m a lay person just enjoying my first taste of real theology 🙂

Leave a Reply

