Skip to content

Searching for Medical ‘Cures’ in all the Wrong Places

May 5, 2011

Today’s article by Mark Armstrong in Catholic Exchange, “Open Season on Humans,” prompts me to introduce my new career choice to my blog, holistic health counseling. Catholic and pro-life news sources regularly have articles outlining the coming horrors of medical research which involve the destruction of human embryos to find cures for all sort of diseases. The medical condition of America is in a shambles. People are ill and dying of all sorts of ailments, and they are impatient for a cure. They are ready to accept any type of research that might find some miracle solution to heal them. Well, my dear friends in Christ, we have to power to heal ourselves. God created us with this awesome body, that when properly nourished can maintain a healthy balance and even cure itself of potentially deadly diseases. Yes, there are most likely exceptions to this idea, but for the most part we need to sit back, think about our food and lifestyle choices, and make some changes in our lives.  It won’t be easy. It might not be fun. But considering the pain and suffering so many of us are going through these days, don’t you think it’s time to give it a try?

My own “suffering” has been in the form of severe heart palpitations and chest pains. Many nights the palpitations were so bad I thought I was going to die.  I have seen two cardiologist and my heart is fine. So what’s wrong with me? After much research, my symptoms also lined up with hypothyroidism. What, then, is causing this problem? The main culprit in my life was Mountain Dew. It, like most soft drinks, is a very unhealthy beverage. I no longer drink Dew or any other soda pop, but from time to time I still have milder palpitations. I am attributing it to sugar and especially high fructose corn syrup, which is in nearly every processed food these days. If I eat a clean, healthy, whole foods diet I start to feel pretty darn good. But the moment I mess up I get to pay the price again. So why can’t I kick the sugar habit for good? That’s a real good question, and one that I am constantly working on.

For three years now, I have been studying nutrition and natural healing on my own. I had been ready for a career change for quite sometime and when I discovered various nutrition schools I thought this is it! I finally picked one and I am now a student at the Institute for Integrative Nutrition out of New York City. I am learning how to heal myself as well as any future clients. As a Catholic, I am well aware of the new age movement that has infiltrated much of the alternative medicine and natural healing world. Everything I learn and eventually practice with be examined with the teaching of the Catholic Church in mind. I know of a number of Catholic websites that have condemned any and all alternative medicine techniques as new age and they say all Catholics should stay away from them. That mindset is throwing the baby out with the bath water! Traditional medicine doesn’t cure many ailments and diseases, it just treats the symptoms. And so, my dear readers, I hope you stay with me as I share bits and pieces of my new life with you here and in my new natural healing blog. Together we can heal ourselves and the world!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Loyal to the Magisterium permalink
    May 5, 2011 5:08 pm

    You could have an anxiety disorder. This is why you get palpations at night but your heart is fine when examined. Anxiety as you probably know is a pshychological disorder, ( however such a thing is questionable. )

    They do say though that caffeine and smoking increase it. so whatever sodas you have been drinking do contain a large amount of caffiene so this could trigger it.

    Pax Christi
    Stephen

    • catholicwideweb permalink*
      May 5, 2011 8:06 pm

      true, i could have a lot of “disorders” if i chose to get myself evaluated via all the hoops of the medical world. i don’t want to treat symptoms, i want to get to the root of my problem, so i am choosing to take the natural approach. it too involves experimentation, but it is me that is the experimenter. all of the processed foods of today are detrimental to our health and i am going to do my best to eliminate as many as i can. its not very easy tho. but i have to try.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,334 other followers

