Skip to content

LSN: Julia Holcomb tells her story about Steven Tyler and their abortion

May 24, 2011

A few weeks ago LifeSiteNews.com posted a story about Aerosmith’s Steven Tyler and his traumatic encounter with abortion. As usual, what Tyler published in the Aerosmith autobiography, Walk This Way

Introductory note: On May 4, 2011 National Review Online published my article entitled “Post Abortion Trauma – Jesus What Have I Done” on Aerosmith front man and American Idol judge Steven Tyler’s abortion experience.  Shortly after this I was contacted by Julia Holcomb.  Julia is the mother of Steven’s Tyler’s aborted son referenced in my article.

Julia and her husband Joseph expressed a desire to entrust to me a more detailed account of Julia’s relationship with Steven Tyler, her abortion and post-abortion life journey.  Julia has read for many years Steven’s Tyler’s recollection and reconstruction of events from the years of their relationship and more recently shared in his autobiography, Does the Noise in My Head Bother You? She would like the opportunity after all these years to present her version of the events.

But ultimately the reason Julia shares her story at this time is because of the inspiration, healing and faith that are reflected in her personal journey.  Julia believes that my NRO article and the high visibility of Steven Tyler at this time provide a providential opportunity to present her story.

– Kevin Burke, LSW

Julia’s Story

My maiden name is Julia Holcomb and I am writing in response to Kevin Burke’s article Post Abortion Trauma from the National Review.  I found the article he wrote about Steven Tyler remarkably compassionate while outlining the trauma of abortion. My name was mentioned in this article, as it has been in several other articles that have been written lately, and in several books. I decided it was time to tell my story honestly, to the best of my memory, hoping to bring closure and peace to this period of my life.

In November of 1973, shortly after my 16th birthday, I met Steven Tyler at a concert in Portland, Oregon. To understand what leads a 16-year-old girl to find herself backstage at an Aerosmith Rock Concert, and in a three- year live-in relationship with Steven Tyler, you need some essential background information.

Family Trauma

My biological father abandoned my mother while we were toddlers.  He was a charming rogue of a gambler who came and went in our lives, leaving a wake of debt and infidelity.  My mother had been encouraged to get an abortion (illegally) by more than one family member when she found out she was expecting me, (the middle child).  Thankfully she gave birth to me and later to my younger brother, and was a loving mother. When Daddy’s gambling debts caused her small teaching salary to be garnished, she filed for a divorce.  Even after the first divorce she had been a good mother, taking us to church, reading us the Bible in the morning before school, singing to us at night, and praying with us for our wandering father.  She was gentle and supportive and I always knew I could go to her for help.  When mother remarried my first stepfather, (who was an alcoholic) things became difficult.

A devastating trauma struck our family in the summer of 1971 when I was 13 years old. My younger brother was killed in a car accident on our way home from a camping trip with our grandparents. He was 10 years old. My grandfather was also killed, my grandmother lost a leg, and my sister and I were injured.  The car accident and family trauma triggered a chain of events that led to my mother and first stepfather to divorce.

My stepfather was committed to a mental hospital briefly, and mother had an emotional breakdown. My sister and I went to live with my aunt and uncle for some months.

It’s a long story, click here for the whole article.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. diane permalink
    May 24, 2011 11:29 pm

    Julia, you are a courageous and spiritual woman who is a light in this world. I’ve admired Steven for some time and, now, not so much. You truly rose from the ashes and resurrected your life. You are blessed.

  2. Jamie Blue permalink
    May 27, 2011 12:47 am

    Julia, I think you should not be using Steven Tyler’s newfound popularity to push your pro-life agenda. I also don’t see you as a victim. You were a groupie/hooker who went to a concert with the intent to offer yourself sexually to him. You chose to live with him, you chose to take drugs, you chose to abort your baby. That child would most likely have had learning disabilities or brain damage from the drugs as well as the smoke from the fire. You couldn’t take care of yourself much less another human being! Stop blaming Steven who has never mentioned you by name, and has only written beautiful things about you from a place of love. You are using his fame to spread your very intolerant views. i whole-heartedly disagree with you and feel compassion for Steven!

    • catholicwideweb permalink*
      May 27, 2011 12:10 pm

      jamie, it takes two to tango, and steven tangoed with an under-aged girl. did she put herself out there? sure. does she have a right to tell her side of the story? ABSOLUTELY! just because tyler is more famous doesn’t trump julia’s story.

  3. Sam permalink
    May 27, 2011 10:20 am

    If you missed Part one, you can find it here on Steven Tyler and Julia Holcomb’s abortion. Post Abortion Trauma “Jesus, what have I done?” by Kevin Burke, LSW http://www.nationalreview.com/articles/266316/post-abortion-trauma-kevin-burke?page=1.

  4. Suzanne permalink
    June 1, 2011 4:32 pm

    Why does this woman, after 30 years, even bother? She has 7 children for crying out loud!
    She is not kidding anybody…there is $$$ to be made!!!! It is always the blame game: Father
    absent, didn’t like new Step Father, drugs, alcohol and a fire. Oh, did I forget, forced to not take birth control and forced to abort. Their relationship was not going to have a happy ending no matter how you slice it!

    Tyler is a cad always was and always will be…deal with it!

    • catholicwideweb permalink*
      June 1, 2011 9:34 pm

      why are so many people against this woman telling her side of the story. tyler keeps bringing her up in his books and he is remembering the story incorrectly. let her speak.

  5. Martin permalink
    June 24, 2011 12:47 pm

    Julia did nothing wrong . . STeven is a rapist !!! and even dare used ” Jesus” as a remorse. what a fake he is . . Julia may GOD BLESS YOU. anyone who disagreess with me try dating your 16 year old girl with a 27 year old drug addict and tell me then that ur daughter was wrong… go hang urself !

    Julia is PERFECT !!!

  6. Julie permalink
    July 14, 2011 1:49 am

    I have to say that I also don’t understand why so many are against her sharing her story. I understand that to his credit Steven never used her real name but since her real name was mentioned in the article done by Kevin Burke and since that article predates her publishing her memoir, it stands to reason that her name was known and out there with this taint on it. It only makes sense that she would want to give her account of things. As for the actual circumstances I have a couple of opinions. First, I think it is clear that she does take partial responsibility for all that happened. And by all rights, she should only take partial responsibility since there were two people involved. As for the age thing, I totally believe that this affects things. Emotionally and psycologically a teenager is much more vurnerable that a 27 year old even when you don’t take into consideration tramatic childhoods and such. And if we take Steven’s own account of things, it is even worse because by his own account he thought she was 14. That being said, 27 and messed up on drugs doesn’t exactly scream emotinally stable so, considering where he was at this point in his life, that goes a long way toward explaining many of his actions.
    Of course there are others who share in the blame of all that transpired. Her mother should not have signed over guardianship. It was the easy way out. Maybe at the time that is all she was capable of but that doesn’t make it right. I understand what rebellious teens are like since I have lived through the teen years of two very rebellious teen step-daughters who lived with us and not their mother. They often wanted things that were not good for them and many times it would have been easier to just give in and let them have it or do it than to say no. But even if it is the hardest thing in the world and even if we are the only person in their whole world that is telling them no to things that are not good for them, it is our responsibility as parents to be that person. At the age of 16, for the most part teens are not capable of reasoning well enough and of seeing far enough into the future to make those kinds of life altering decisions.
    Overall I applaude Julia for her courage in accepting responsibility for what happened and for finding the strength to forgive herself and others and allowing herself to heal. This is much harder than it sounds. I also applaude her courage in choosing to expose an old wound in the hopes that her story might make a difference in someone else’s life.

  7. Julie Averill permalink
    September 14, 2011 6:51 pm

    Julia,
    I attended a Silent No More conference call last night and heard about you speaking out and being Silent No More. I read your testimony today and posted the link on my facebook. I am the Regional Coordinator for Colorado Silent No More and will be receiving my official training tonight. God is leading me in this direction but I am new and haven’t really shared my story with many yet. Thank you for coming out and sharing yours because it inspires me to not be afraid to share mine. You are an awesome person & I would love to meet you someday.

    • catholicwideweb permalink*
      September 14, 2011 8:52 pm

      Julie,
      I hope you meet Julia someday too, and I am glad to hear that you will be sharing your story as well. This blog however is not affiliated with Ms. Holcomb. I just wanted to let you know. May God be with you on your journey!

  8. Donna permalink
    October 16, 2011 4:13 am

    Steven is a Catholic Italian from the Bronx with a conscience. He actually mentally could not take what he did and knew it was a mistake that is reason why he was on drugs from the mental pain of going through that at a young age. And we know him personally and know he is a good person. He probably carried that weight on his chest for years. anyone who knows Steven, knows he is a good person.

    • catholicwideweb permalink*
      October 16, 2011 7:45 pm

      Thanks for this insight, Donna.

    • Dave permalink
      October 18, 2011 7:36 pm

      Steven couldn’t take it at such a young age? He was around 28 an adult male who had taken legal custody of her, many in jail a lot younger and for much less! He is a good person? What about rape? Why give her drugs? Why no prenatal care? Ask Steven to explain the fire that almost killed her. His buddy comes to take her shopping, she wakes in a smoke filled apt with him gone but the front door jammed, her exit out the back consumed in fire and impassable. Not your typical trip to the store. And then to force an abortion on her while she is recovering in the hospital – wow what a great guy! If he had a conscience he would not have treated anyone this way, and then to trash her in his books & articles all these years later for the almighty dollar$$$. Appears she is only coming out in defense after his smears are public and known to her children, I feel sorry for them, but even then she is not smearing him but is amazingly gracious. God Bless You and Protect You Ms Holcomb!

  9. November 9, 2011 1:22 am

    All I know is that I remember Julie (Julia) from Oregon City back in the 1970s and she was always very sweet, and so was her sister Lisa. I hope her life is going well and I hope she has a great deal of happiness now. — Frank Lopez

  10. James Schmidt permalink
    February 26, 2012 8:52 pm

    Julia, I watched your interview on You Tube this morning. Just wanted to tell you that shortly after I was saved, I was moved by the Holy Spirit to pray for you and the members of the band.I didnt know that you had gone through all of that, and its clear to me now why I (and I am sure others) were and have been praying for you guys. I am very blessed to hear that God is so real in your life. It will be so cool when we all get to heaven and stuff like this is revealed more fully.Thank you for speaking out !

    • February 27, 2012 2:33 am

      Julie is a friend of mine from many years ago when we lived in Oregon City … she was always a very nice person, so sweet. She is in my prayers also.

  11. Karen permalink
    May 22, 2012 9:46 pm

    Julia, God is merciful and he has a plan for you…or more likely one of your children. thank you for speaking out..you are a true deciple. just caught you speaking on EWTN.

  12. Kathy permalink
    August 6, 2014 4:04 pm

    Thank you for sharing your story, Julia. God Bless you and your family.

Leave a Reply

