Skip to content

Updated Fr. Corapi Statement/Clarification – June 25, 2011

June 25, 2011

12/4/2011 UPDATE: It appears Corapi has gone underground. Most of the links here are dead. His new website has not been updated since September 2011. All that is available to us now is prayer. Lord have mercy.

Thank you Fr. Corapi for clearing things up with this latest statement. The last one, when you introduced your Black Sheep Dog Ministries was quite cryptic!!

From Fr. Corapi’s Newsletter this morning:

“…I have NOT left The Church!”

(Source: www.TheBlackSheepDog.us)

“I am sincerely thankful to all of you that have been kind and charitable, and also those that have perhaps been something less than that. Everyone has their opinions, and a perfect right to them. I respect that. Knowledge is a great thing, but as the old saying goes, “A little knowledge can be dangerous.” There is a dilemma that we face in the information age: On the one hand we want to use all of the marvelous technology we have. On the other hand, we don’t want to end up guilty of scarcely having a single unpublished thought. We have to say something, but we can’t say everything.

I think it’s a bit too easy to arrive at an erroneous conclusion when you base it on a fallacious presupposition. For instance, some very kind and fine people assume that I have “left the Church.” Please, understand this, I have not left the Church. I love the Catholic Church and would not “leave the Church.” I have resigned from public ministry, which is rather anticlimactic to be sure since I was out of it anyhow due to the suspension or “administrative leave,” which is tantamount to suspension. There are elements of this that you don’t know about, and that’s not your fault.

Once a man is ordained a priest he remains a priest for all eternity. Holy Orders is one of the three sacraments that imprints an indelible mark on the soul. What the Church can give or remove is “faculties”, which authorizes the person to publicly administer the sacraments. I always cringe when I hear “he’s not a priest anymore.” If he ever was, he still is. What they mean is that he is not functioning in the normal way most priests function, that is, publicly administering the sacraments. Most folks’ contact with priests is the parish priest. They come in contact with him primarily when he administers the sacraments.

A priest is ordained primarily to confect the Eucharist. A validly ordained priest can do this in the normal setting of a parish or community celebration of the holy Eucharist, or in private, as I have done for twenty years. It has the same power. The power is not from how many people are present, it is from the same sacrifice of Calvary made present in time and space. The celebration of the sacraments is a monumentally noble, holy, and powerful thing. Please don’t misunderstand me and think I believe anything less than that. Each of us is called to a unique way of serving God and society. Certainly I was called to be a priest, but not as a parish priest, and that is not out of character with the history and tradition of the Church. St. Paul was a mission preacher basically. He traveled widely and preached. He did not function like a parish priest, at one time almost boasting that he thanked God that he hadn’t baptized many of them as he didn’t want to share in their sins. He was not demeaning the sacrament, just thankful he wouldn’t have to answer to God for having some share in profaning such a holy state of life.

My mission was discerned by my legitimate superior in the Church long before I was ordained. It was preaching. He, Fr. James Flanagan, told me this in 1987. I was ordained in 1991. He said it would be a huge mistake for me to ever be constrained by a parish or conventional way of life in one place. I did not take this upon myself. It was given to me by the Church and I was sent. Please don’t think I don’t value the sacraments. I do. However, the public administration of the sacraments was never what the Church told me to do. They sent me to preach. The two are not mutually exclusive. They are complimentary. Not all of the members of the Body of Christ are the same, but they are all necessary, noble, and holy.

Some of you have thought I might have acted too fast and not given the Church enough time to complete their investigation. You could be right, but you also don’t know the facts like I do. The utter disregard for our reasonable requests and certain statements made by the lawyer for the Society of Our Lady confirmed to us that they would not complete the investigation so long as I insisted in exercising my civil and human rights. That is a dead horse. Why beat it? My lawyers would not allow me to continue unless ten questions were answered regarding the nature of the process—simple reasonable questions. They ignored the request for 6 weeks and still ignore it. These weren’t rocket science questions. At a future time we’ll publish the entire letter and the questions.

For about ten years I have been attacked, threatened, and endured extortion attempts. The leadership of the Church never lifted a finger to help me in any way with this. Every time someone gets angry with me or decides they want a payday I have to go through hell with no help from the leadership of the Church. I admit I have grown weary of that. The trauma created by all of the sexual abuse of minors scandals has warped the judgment of some in authority. They are running scared. I believe in my case they panicked. “We don’t know if the dog is rabid, but let’s shoot him in the head just in case.” Well, this black sheep of a sheepdog has been “shot in the head” before and lived to tell about it. I’ll be telling about it for awhile longer.

The name “The Black Sheep Dog” is the title of my autobiography, a title which I came up with about a year and a half ago. That title was, by the way, stolen by a person who worked for me while they were working for me, attempting to secure internet domain names under that title. That is in effect a violation of federal intellectual property laws since I have both registered trademarks and copyright on that title. The title is simply the combination of a black sheep, that would be me; and a sheepdog, that would also be me. The concept of a sheepdog guarding the flock is certainly biblical and also an idea I gleaned from an article from LTC Dave Grossman, which we’ll post for you to read at a future date, or you can read it on the internet where it has been circulating for some time.

Listen my friends, I realize this situation is less than ideal. I don’t like it either, but under the circumstances I honestly believed and still do that I had one of two choices to make:

1. Crawl under a rock and quietly die; or

2. Don’t crawl under the rock and don’t die. I feel that I still have something to offer.

The leadership of the Church has made it clear to me they don’t want me anymore. They have a right to do that and I have to accept that. So, I’ll do what I can outside of the Church. I’m not leaving the Church. I am simply doing something else in life so that I won’t wither up and die, and so that you can still derive some benefit from my gifts from God. It may not be as good as before, or it may be better. The only thing I know for sure is that I’m not going to disobey the Church and attempt to “minister” as a priest, and I’m not going to lay down and die. I’m not ready to do that just yet. As a matter of fact, you might be pleasantly surprised at what’s in our future. Stay in touch. We may not have the old meeting places anymore, but we have some new ones and I would like to meet you there. Until next time this is the Black SheepDog, unleashed and very much alive.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. James Joseph Michael Hall permalink
    June 25, 2011 10:24 pm

    Today we have heard that even the holy spekers for God are targets.
    Father Corapi is and will always be one that we will know as the voice
    of God who has set him self as Gods servant truely speaking for truth.
    Father Corapi is a Saint.

  2. June 25, 2011 11:17 pm

    I’ll always be grateful to for Fr. Corarpi,s influence on me.His ‘tell it like it is’ persona caught my attn. and I’ve learned so much. I’m an alcoholic,sober for 2 1/2 yrs. I went to confession today at St. Anthony’s and will attend mass in the morning. God’s mercy is so overwelming at times, I just cry.I’ve been praying about this whole situation and I believe in the power of prayer. I hope for good things to come to you Fr. Remember, NO PAIN- NO GAIN,NO CROSS-NO CROWN!

  3. eding greer permalink
    June 26, 2011 7:39 pm

    Fr. Corapi had helped me grow in my spiritual life from listening to his lectures in EWTN. It really is sad to hear of his decision but I also understand that his life has to go on. He had mentioned many times of how the evil forces will attack the church by getting the priests & to see this happening to our dear Fr. Corapi is really something.It is imperative to pray for all our priests,”No priest,No Eucharist.” You are included in my prayers Fr. and my gratitude to you. May God bless you and your future endeavours.

  4. Kathy permalink
    September 30, 2011 7:38 pm

    Father Corapi will always have a place in my heart. His preaching always had a profound effect upon me. I hope he will continue his religious mission; maybe not in the manner previously executed, but so that Catholics such as myself can listen to his message. Thank you, Father Corapi. You are greatly missed.

  5. J R whetkenburger permalink
    November 24, 2011 6:28 pm

    What Coropi seems to forget is that he is a part of a larger church and not the church. He also forgets his promise of obidence.

  6. J R whetkenburger permalink
    November 24, 2011 6:30 pm

    Coropi, what about your promise of obedience and poverty? Is Coropi still Catholic?

    • January 4, 2012 12:12 am

      i miss hearing father on the radio every morning i found my days inspired by his words we must NEVER judge our dear priest NEVER!!!! our blessed mother told us love them & pray for them my 2 brothers who have fallen from the church started to listen to you every morning we stand strong behind your words of TRUTH & THE CHURCH let the w/out sin cast the first stone

Leave a Reply

