Skip to content

Treasures of the Church – A Walk with the Saints

March 28, 2016

Last week I had the privilege of walking with the saints, well, about 150 of them!

Treasures of the Church is a ministry of evangelization of the Catholic Church.  Run by Fr. Carlos Martins of the Companions of the Cross, its purpose is to give people an experience of the living God through an encounter with the relics of his saints in the form of an exposition.  Each exposition begins with a multi-media presentation on the Church’s use of relics that is scriptural, catechetical, and devotional, leading to a renewal of the Catholic faith for many people.  After the teaching those in attendance have an opportunity to venerate the relics of some of their favorite saints.

Every church, school, prison, entity should host this traveling exhibit of relics!

Fr. Carlos spoke in the church first. I think the talk was about an hour. He gave his back ground first, then he spoke about relics, what is a first, second and third class relic. He also spoke at length about St. Maria Goretti.

He ended his talk by explaining the layout of the relic exposition. There are about 16 tables with blue table cloths and two with gold. The gold tables are special because they are for the relics of our Lord and His Blessed Mother (Fragments of the True Cross, the Crown of Thorns, the Lance and the Veil of the Mother of God)! The blue tables hold 6-8 reliquaries and information cards about each of the saints. In his explanation he tells us that our connection with the saints is very powerful. Many people have experienced miracles as a result of venerating the relics (and he wants to hear about the miracles). Father also said, as we walk over to the gym, where the relics were displayed, pray that we will find our companion saint. Different people discover theirs in varied ways, you just know when it happens.

slide-1-officialSo I walked over, praying that I would discover my companion saint. I took off my necklace that I always wear with a Crucifix, a Miraculous Medal and a medal of St. Michael, and I held it in my hand as I walked with the saints, touching it to each and every reliquary there. I saw several of my favorite saints, Thomas Aquinas, Catherine of Siena, Maximilian Kolbe, and many others. Nothing. I was getting close to visiting all of the tables. Was my companion saint not among those present? Then I came to St. Faustina and the tears just started to roll down my face. It was her!

There was just something so special about that interaction. I just hope and pray that I and a good friend and companion in return and share my life with her and regularly ask for her intercession. The next day I went out and got a bunch of St. Faustina prayer cards so that I can scatter them around my existence so that I have constant reminders of her relationship with me.

So, talk to your pastor, your principal, about Treasures of the Church and then get on Fr. Carlos’ schedule and have him bring his Treasures of the Church to your location. You and many others will be so glad you did!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

