Skip to content

Holy Medals and Witches….

May 10, 2018

Hello Blogland,

I haven’t written in a long while in this forum. I’ve been busy, distracted and assorted other things. A lot of my time has been spent helping my parents in their twilight years. All sorts of time and activity are needed there. I took a course on essential oils; still studying all the info actually; oils are a fascinating gift from God. The way nature’s healing powers can be harnessed into a droplet of health assisting oil is awesome! They deserve their own post for sure. I am also selling “stuff” on etsy, which brings me to the reason for this post.

I mostly sell holy medals on etsy. I have been working hard this past year to get my listings more presentable and findable and it seems to be working, thanks be to God! It is also interesting how certain holy medals run in herd-like interest. Some weeks I find that several people buy the same holy medal, and then it stops and another medal comes into the limelight. I created a google survey that I send out in my “thank you for your purchase” note, asking for the inspiration of why a medal was selected. Hopefully I will receive a few replies to learn more about the saintly patterns I am seeing.

But the main etsy reason for this post is that I am also finding that a certain population has “begun” to like my listings. I say begun, because the latest two clearly identify themselves in the witch/wiccan population. If others have liked my listings earlier, they didn’t have such an identifier in their moniker. So, what’s up with this trend? One of the witches has a bunch of sorrowful heart listings liked in her profile. Are these individuals having second thoughts about their chosen religion/spirituality and considering conversion, or are they searching for Catholic paraphernalia for their witch games? Only God knows, and so I am praying for their souls, and I ask that you pray for them as well.

These wonderings about holy medal likes by witches lead me to a Catholic Answers article, Witchcraft 101. It seems like a good introduction to the subject, mainly from an apologetics standpoint, but good none the less.

It also caused me to recall a book I began reading recently, The Myth of Disenchantment. The author of this book is adamant that spirituality is not dead in this modern, scientific world. Sadly, though, the spirituality that he is mostly studying and seemingly promoting is in the world of magic and witches. Mankind needs a connection with the divine; it is written on our soul! But we have to make sure that we connect with THE Divine, the Lord our God, and not just any old spirit that may be floating around us.

There are a lot of “spiritual” people among us. Let us all pray that their spirituality becomes a holy spirituality focused on God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. This God of ours brings us great comfort, especially in our times of need and suffering. He doesn’t need a warning notice as noted in the 101 article above. God is Love, and His Love brings us joy.

No comments yet

Leave a comment